Quick Answer: What Were The Three Original States?

What are the 13 founding states?

The Thirteen Colonies gave rise to eighteen present-day states: the original thirteen states (in chronological order of their ratification of the United States Constitution: Delaware, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Georgia, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Maryland, South Carolina, New Hampshire, Virginia, New York, North ….

What are the 13 colonies and when were they established?

1607Thirteen Colonies/Founded

What were the 3 original States?

The first three colonies to become states were Delaware, Pennsylvania, and New Jersey. This happened in 1787. Eight colonies became states in 1788.

How did the 13 colonies become 50 states?

The United States was formed as a result of the American Revolution when the thirteen American colonies revolted against the rule of Great Britain. … These thirteen colonies became the first 13 states as each ratified the Constitution. The first state to ratify the Constitution was Delaware on December 7, 1787.

What were the first states in America?

In Dover, Delaware, the U.S. Constitution is unanimously ratified by all 30 delegates to the Delaware Constitutional Convention, making Delaware the first state of the modern United States.

What were the 13 colonies called?

The United States of America initially consisted of 13 states that had been British colonies until their independence was declared in 1776 and verified by the Treaty of Paris in 1783: New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Rhode Island and Providence Plantations, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, …

How long did Britain rule America?

British America comprised the colonial territories of the British Empire in America from 1607 to 1783.

Which of the 13 colonies was the best to live in?

rhode island was the most tolerant of the 13 colonies. however there were many differences between the old settlements and the newer settlements in Rhode island.

What is the oldest of the 13 colonies?

Jamestown, VirginiaThe British Empire settled its first permanent colony in the Americas at Jamestown, Virginia, in 1607. This was the first of 13 colonies in North America.

What do the 13 colonies stand for?

The Thirteen Colonies, also known as the Thirteen British Colonies or the Thirteen American Colonies, were a group of colonies of Great Britain on the Atlantic coast of North America founded in the 17th and 18th centuries which declared independence in 1776 and formed the United States of America.

When were the colonies founded in order?

13 Colonies List13 Colonies List in Order of FoundingDate FoundedName of Colony or SettlementNames of Famous People1607Virginia – First ColonyJohn Smith John Rolfe1626New York – Second ColonyPeter Minuit Peter Stuyvesant1630Massachusetts – Third ColonyJohn Winthrop13 more rows

What were the 13 original colonies in order?

That story is incomplete–by the time Englishmen had begun to establish colonies in earnest, there were plenty of French, Spanish, Dutch and even Russian colonial outposts on the American continent–but the story of those 13 colonies (New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island, New York, New Jersey, …